Sumo Wrestling

Click image to hear sound again.


There are six grand sumo tournaments (basho) throughout the year in Japan. Three take place in the capital, Tokyo, with one each in Osaka, Nagoya and Fukuoka. Each tournament lasts for 15 days with the first and final bouts taking place on a Sunday.

The most popular days for watching sumo are on the weekends when tickets may be hard to come by. The bouts in the top division begin in the afternoon and traditionally end around 6pm.

Though not as popular as it once was, sumo is televised live on NHK, the national broadcaster, with a digest of the day's action shown later on in the evening.

Sumo Tournaments

Tokyo - January, May & September at the Ryogoku Kokugikan Sports Stadium close to Ryogoku Station on the JR Sobu Line.

Osaka - March at Osaka Prefectural Gymnasium close to Namba Station on the JR, Nankai and Osaka subway lines.

Nagoya - July at Aichi Prefectural Gymnasium, a short walk from Shiyakusho Station (City Hall) on Meijo Line of the Nagoya subway.

Fukuoka - November at Fukuoka Kokusai Center, a bus from JR Hakata Station to the Kokusai-kaigijo Sunpalace-mae bus stop.

Get tickets for sumo tournaments in Japan

Sumo wrestler Futeno.

Sumo Resources

Images of Sumo

A day at a Sumo tournament

"A Day in the Life of a Sumo Wrestler"

Sumo Wrestling - an Overview

Four American Wrestlers in Japan

Books on Tokyo Japan

Buy A Japan Rail Pass For Your Journey To Japan.